the personality hire

I have an announcement...

Hey boys and girls,

It’s your favorite email of the week! This time, in a brand new outfit 😏

I’m so excited to finally announce the rebrand of “Office Slayers” into this new and improved newsletter I’m now calling “The Personality Hire.”

☕️ The tea on new changes:

The Personality Hire:

  • talks about being a hot girl in life and work

  • Gen Z perspective on blah blah blah

  • shares must-know internet trends and Gen-Z vocab

  • is pink

  • has a really good ring to it

  • has major lore behind the name (that now I must embrace)

Office Slayers:

  • talks about being a hot girl in life and work

  • Gen Z perspective on blah blah blah

  • shares must-know internet trends and Gen-Z vocab

  • is purple

  • was the first newsletter name that came to mind

  • is gone but never forgotten

All the same slay and vibes, except The Personality Hire goes to yoga 3 times a week, reads before bed, and never leaves the house without lip gloss.

Rest in peace✊

Every company needs personality hires

I’ve seen a lot of discourse online about "personality hires.”

They’re either 1) the most annoying person in the office and people claim they have to re-do work for them, or 2) they’re the glue that holds the place together.

I think we can put enough trust in hiring managers to say that they wouldn’t intentionally hire someone who couldn’t get the job done, so the argument that people are only hired for their personality doesn’t make sense to me.

My take? Anyone can be a good employee, tippity tapping on their Excel spreadsheet, but it takes a special person to keep the company culture fun and the vibes high.

It’s a lot easier to get things done well and efficiently if you actually like the people you’re working with, and you don’t dread being around them for 8 hours a day. You might even like it!

This shows up in a lot of different ways in different people, but watch the video in the Tweet below for a good example of someone keeping the vibes high.

What I’ve been up to (SXSW version)

One of my roommates from my sophomore year of college hit me up randomly & invited me to a SXSW launch party for Dumb Love, a pickle ball apparel brand she helped design!

Here’s me celebrating pickle ball the best way I know how! By partaking in the free drinks in custom branded cups :)

Shop here tbh, they have major cutie stuff!

Sign up for their email list & get 10% off🫡

GEN Z VOCAB BABY

  1. rotting / to rot: spending an extended period of time in your bed, often watching TV, doom-scrolling on TikTok, etc.

    “I had such a busy week, so I spent all of Saturday rotting in bed.”

  2. gyat/gyatt: abbreviation for “girl your ass is thick.”

    It can be used as a noun to mean “large butt,”

    or as an exclamation as a reaction to seeing a large butt, kinda like gdamn:

    “Gyatt!”

That’s it from me today! Can’t wait for all of us to grow into the hottest, slayest most confident most beautiful-brilliant-hilarious-radiant versions of ourselves.

Stay playful and see you next week(ish)!

Xo,

Bella Rose