teaching Business Insider how to slay

behind the scenes of my BI interview

Hey slayers,

Welcome to the Office Slayers— your no BS guide to being a hot girl in and out of the office.

Today, we’re talking journalism. The 4th estate. COLD HARD FACTS.

Or, more accurately, the BTS of my Business Insider debut for providing unsolicited advice on how to act at work.

If you’re new here, you might not know that I accidentally became internet famous last week. I think that’s what happens when you make a series of TikToks about being playful and an unserious Gen-Z at work.

If you’re curious, this popped off first (398k views):

@bellarosemortel

another day of being unserious gen z

Made this follow up that went even harder (606k views):

@bellarosemortel

Replying to @k. im the cheif vibes officer at my office so this is legit advice

And since a collective 1M+ people saw these videos, Business Insider reached out to me for an interview on my feelings towards being more playful at work.

Some highlights from my 30 minute conversation with Geoff from BI:

(these are not direct quotes)

  1. “Tell me about yourself”

    Me: I’m Bella Rose, I studied Journalism at UT Austin, and just graduated in May. Now I do socials for beehiiv, a newsletter platform.

    Him: Omg I’m kinda nervous, I don’t usually interview other journalists.

  2. The personality hire debate

    Him: So, saw that you refer to yourself as a personality hire and I’ve seen a lot of discourse about that online— because they’re people who aren’t necessarily hired for hard skills.

    Me: Well, I take the term “personality hire” and make it mean something more than just being hired for interpersonal skills. I think of it as a value-add. Though I’ve had a career for .5 seconds, I think my charisma + vibes (in addition to being smart and prepared) have helped me get a lot of work experiences and opportunities.

  3. Are you fr?

    Him: So in your video, you say that when you left that meeting, it was too serious, did you actually feel that way? And do you actually say “slay,” and refer to your managers as “kings”?

    Me: Lmao yes. Did leave that meeting thinking that we usually have more pleasantries, and this time, we didn’t. Of course, made my on-camera delivery/reaction to the meeting funny to fit TikTok (duh).

    Still me: Also yes, I do say those words at work all the time. But a big part of why it’s “worked” for me is because I’ve been lucky that I’m in environments with chill company culture. All my managers / coworkers have been super receptive to it, and lean into the playfulness with me.

    (Shout out to homies at Morning Brew, Workweek, and beehiiv)

The article came out early Saturday morning. When I first read it, I thought: Damn, do I kinda look dumb rn?

Though I do wish my ✨ nuanced ✨ perspectives were included in the article, one of my work besties said this was “a 3 out of 10 on the Big Deal scale.” I believe him.

But what the hell do I know? Read the Business Insider article here and decide for yourself what you want to think about it all.

Naturally, I made this TikTok reacting to the BI article. You should watch, it’s pretty funny.

Recently found out they also wrote a similar article mentioning me in the New York Post???? Perhaps another reaction video is in order—stay tuned. #EverythingIsContent 😈

GEN Z VOCAB BABY

scrapping this week. y’all got enough of this from my videos lol


AND since it’s giving season, just wanted to say thank you for reading and subscribing. Office Slayers is soooo fun and I love that you’re here 🤎 

That’s all from me today! Can’t wait for all of us to grow into the hottest slayest most confident most beautiful-brilliant-hilarious-radiant versions of ourselves.

For more on how to get publications to write all about your personality, subscribe below. You could be hotter with just one click. 😍

Stay playful & see you Wednesday ;)