my top 3 secrets to creativity

a tequila inspired newsletter

What’s up slayers

Welcome back to the Office Slayers— your no BS guide to being the hottest and most confident version of yourself in the whole wide world.

Last Friday night I found myself curled up on my couch, smelling my fresh chocolate chip cookies in the oven, watching my 4th consecutive episode of Sex and the City…

When all of a sudden, I’m sprinting out the door in an all black going out outfit because I got a call from some friends telling me I just had to go out that night.

(I only went because I was promised free drinks)

We squeezed six into a booth that was only meant for five people, and three fun tequila cocktails later, one of my new friends (slay!) asked me this:

Your job sounds soooo fun. How do you come up with creative ideas all the time?

So here it is boys and girls.

BR’s TOP 3 secrets to creativity as a social media manager:

proof I know what I’m talking about!

1. Stop trying so hard

Name a single time you’ve come up with a good, funny, or interesting content idea when you were sitting at your desk trying to think of ideas.

crickets

That’s what I thought.

Creative jobs can low key be a grind, but ya can’t force the good stuff. TRUST.

2. Literally don’t look at what your competitors are doing

You think in my 4(ish) months of running social for beehiiv (the best newsletter software on the planet) I have looked even one time at what other ESPs are doing on social???????

NEver. Not on purpose anyway. Why? Because that would make me a loser.

And because looking at content that’s too close to what you’re supposed to be making puts you in a box. Hot girls know that ideas can come from anywhere and anyone, so it’s helpful to look at content that’s not from your industry to keep your mind open and your eyes fresh.

Here are a few accounts I go to escape the world of newsletters, software, and media, every now and then:

(In addition to holy grail Twitter accounts: Duolingo, Wendy’s, Taco Bell, soon to be beehiiv, etc)

3. Commit to doing things your own way

(this is hard)

As a social media girlie and as someone who’s chronically online, I think a healthy amount of consumption is essential to 1) understand patterns of users online, 2) learn new uses / features of a platform, and 3) to know what’s cool.

There’s a danger zone of too much consumption that can put you in a rut. You probably can be successful by taking a strategy or content type that worked for someone else, but…

Sometimes it’s helpful to think: “How would I make this (video) if I had never seen this type of (video) be done before?”

Exercise your gut feelings tbh !! and follow the inspiration.

Also writing this I realized I have so much tea on being an SMM and creativity because at beehiiv you learn a lot and you learn it fast !! Maybe I’ll do these more often 👀

GEN Z VOCAB BABY

will y’all be fr and tell me if you think this tweet is funny.

personally, I think it’s fire, and won’t be upset at all at feedback that contradicts that!!! 😄 

That’s all from me today! Can’t wait for all of us to grow into the hottest slayest most confident most beautiful-brilliant-hilarious-radiant versions of ourselves.

See you next time,

Xo, BR