the secret to storytelling

welcome to your content erađź’…

Hey boys and girls,

It’s your favorite email of the week!! Office Slayers!! your no BS guide to how hot girls do life and work!!

Today’s edition is all about #content #baby #content

Let’s get it

At some point over the last few years, we’ve all probably regretted the fact that we didn’t hop on the content train and start a YouTube channel in 2011.

That’s why we’re all filming silly little TikToks, making silly little memes, and writing silly little newsletters now.

Tbh I’m here for it though. It’s 2024, and if you’re not making content in some way shape or form, that’s low key embarrassing you’re denying so many people the opportunity to see how smart and cool and awesome you are.

Everyone’s entering their content era, and I want to share one main strategy I’ve noticed individual creators use to slay storytelling on TikTok.

(so you can steal it and not be embarrassed anymore :p)

How they do it:

A big strategy I’ve seen more and more creators doing on the clock app is deciding on what their story is and telling it over and over and over and over and over again.

Take @kylegoesoff for example. If you’ve never heard of Kyle, he’s been living out of his $1500 car while taking a never ending road trip.

If you scroll through his most recent videos, he starts them all by saying some version of that. Things like:

  • “For two years, I’ve been documenting an endless road trip…”

  • "After two years of driving the $1500 car over the country and living out of it…”

  • “After two years of living in a car, I’ve upgraded to a van!”

  • “This is why I decided to live in a car for the past two years”

You get it: 2 years. car. travel.

This repetition 1) makes people remember him and 2) gives people a story to resonate with right off the bat 3) is a really good strategy for TikTok because there’s no way 1 person sees every single one of your videos (imagine if you only told your story once!!!!)

This is you rn: but omg! I’m not cool and I don’t live in my car or have a unique story that I can tell in my videos.

This is me when you say that: yes you are, and yes you do

Some things that can work for a story starring you:

  • “I’m a 24 year old living at home and here’s how I grocery shop for the family”

  • “I moved across the country with literally $7 dollars in my bank account…”

  • “I’m a full time private chef in the Hamptons and this is a day in my life”

  • “I quit my full time job as a business analyst to be a content creator — here’s my journey becoming an influencer”

  • etc

I just started trying the “girl in first apartment” angle on my TikTok. This could literally be what makes me famous — I’ll report back.

It’s all about how you tell the story and use it to remind people who you are.

It’ll feel like you’re repeating yourself way too much, but have fun with the ways you frame it: with different activities, people, and one off experiences in the mix. It’s all up to you after all :)

Decide what your story is and never stop telling it!!

Hot girls make content.

A TREND YOU PROBABLY MISSED

In case you haven’t heard of the Orange Peel Theory, it basically means that if you love your significant other, you’ll peel their oranges.

It’s not actually about the oranges. It’s just about your partner doing a small act of service without asking why. They just do little things because they love you.

(sent with invisible ink) FOR GIRLS ONLY: ask your man to peel your orange. If he doesn’t, break up with him. I hope this girl broke up with her boyfriend.

All of y’all better be peeling oranges for your girl !!!!! No excuses !!!

That’s all from me today!! Can’t wait for all of us to grow into the hottest slayest most confident most beautiful-brilliant-hilarious-radiant versions of ourselves.

See you next time !

Xo,

Bella Rose