roasting my coworkers

personality hire privileges

Helloooo personality hires

Welcome back to your favorite email of the week :)

Today, I’m putting my money where my mouth is and showing you some of my most iconic personality hire work to date…and hopefully inspiring you to embrace your role as ‘culture maker’ at work.

Making work fun!

A few weeks ago, about 70 beehiiv employees gathered in Montreal for the 2024 company offsite.

As beehiiv’s resident social media girlie, I was counting down the days until I could meet the whole company IRL to exploit the whole experience for social media content. Follow us on LinkedIn!

As beehiiv’s token personality hire, I was even more excited to own just 30 minutes of the offsite by presenting superlatives to the whole company.

personality hire-ing to the fullest by presenting in the bee costume

Here’s how it went down:

I asked the big dogs at beehiiv ~6 months ago if we could do fun team superlatives at our offsite.

the receipts

My vision: create silly individualized awards for every single person that was going to attend offsite.

The roadblock: I simply do not know all 70 people that well 🥲 

So how’d we finesse a silly little fact about each person?

  1. During our team All Hands meetings, we all go around and answer a “fun prompt” about our weekend, our bucket lists, our favorite snacks, etc. These answers give really good insight into people’s personalities.

  2. Reached out to managers, people’s work besties, and our very own HR queen to make sure everyone got something that fit them.

can’t believe there’s a question mark in this

Then, it was showtime…I had my bee costume on, microphone in hand, and all the power in the world.

The presentation worked like a little game: I showed the superlative first, gave the team a few seconds to guess, and then I revealed who actually won that superlative / award.

imagine seeing this slide on the screen & everyone guesses YOU lol

Everyone got to take home a personalized mug with their superlative on it.

The fact that these are plain white with black text makes it even funnier.

a few of the silliest ones

Did I low key roast some people? Maybe.

Was it an enjoyable way to spend part of our Friday afternoon? 100%

If you ask me, everyone had a really good time and laughed a lot and really wants to do superlatives again at next year’s offsite!

they just cant get enough!!

And to all the culture makers, personality hires, and Chief Vibes Officers reading this… let’s have fun at work!!!

What I’ve been up to:

Falling victim to travel cancellations & delays from Hurricane Beryl / other storms!!

I actually cried the moment I realized I was going to have to stay up all night stranded in the airport…but at least I got some content out of it:

@bellarosemortel

its also storming outside so that adds to the vibe

GEN Z VOCAB BABY

  1. It’s brat girl summer: Charli XCX’s “Brat” is the hot girl album right now, and it’s become a way of life.

    Things that are brat girl summer: last minute plane tickets, vodka red bulls, wearing sunglasses indoors, voice memos
     

  2. Aura/Aura points: Your cool factor, the energy you carry.

    Ex: If you wave at someone from across the room and they don’t see you or they don’t wave back, you just lost 500 aura points.

That’s it from me today!

Keep on slaying and see you next time!

Xo,

Bella Rose